top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Seifts

Take a leap of faith with this new Doula

It seems to contradict what you would think, to choose a person to support you who only has a few births under her belt. Yet here I am asking you to do just that! Being a Doula is not clinical in nature and sometimes we can be confused with providers such as OBs or Midwives. I think it is important to remember that Emotional Support is a critical part of what I am there for. So I guess the raw answer to this is that in spite of being new, I am knowledgeable and passionate.



Me in Talum Mexico jumping into a cenote


I chose to become certified - Not because I believe it is inadequate not to be, but because I felt that it was the best way for me to get all of the pertinent information from one trusted source. In doing this, I've created an amazing base of knowledge from which I build off of each day. Becoming certified was a way for me to back myself up and I am so happy I chose Madriella for my certification classes. Each company is different and has their own ideals, but Madriella quickly became my favorite. There were, of course, many factors that went into my decision but ultimately it came down to their driving principles. For me this career choice is more than just a way to pay my bills. Its not just a job - this path has given me the opportunity to share with families the untouched strength they have within them. To lift them up and to provide them with evidence based information to help them make empowering decisions about their birth experience. Having a Doula at your side means having peace of mind. It does not mean the picture perfect birth of your dreams, but it does mean that throughout your labor and birth you will be treated with compassion and have me there the entire time. Unlike nurses and OBs, I don't come and go every couple of hours. This is not me throwing shade at them. On the contrary. I understand that they have many people to tend to but I only have you!


Yes I am new, but what I may lack in experience, I more than make up for with my attentiveness and drive. I do not have all the answers but I am not alone. I am backed by an amazing group of Madriella Doulas, and with their support I will get you the information you need. Yet even with this in mind you may still be unsure - I get it, really I do. While at the birth center, the only people I wanted in the room were my midwife, husband, and mother. Honestly, I thought that because my mom had been through 3 natural childbirths that she would be great at "coaching" me through contractions and such. Really she went into mom mode and that is not what I needed. We have talked about this and she agrees that it was difficult seeing me in pain and that she just wanted to take it away. What I needed was so much more. What I wanted was a guide. Someone who could suggest positions and offer me a sip without needing to ask, who could tell my husband how to engage with me and help me through contractions, and who could keep cool under pressure while I freaked out. I am happy they were there but I learned a valuable lesson that day! I realized it after a Doula came in to chat with me and used counter pressure on my lower back. This helped to relieve the pain I was having during contractions and I was in love. I realized that having a Doula present really made a HUGE difference for me in just those few short minutes. You see, I am in the same boat as you! I have to interview and find the person who most fits in with my birth team. When we decide to grow our family I will need to start the interview process too.


So should you choose a seasoned Doula or one hot off the griddle? Honestly, only you can make that decision but I challenge you to interview new and seasoned Doulas because this is a relationship that we build and you should feel comfortable and at ease with your birth team. Your birth experience should be one you feel great talking about, so you can look back on these moments in your life and remember how powerful and in charge you felt. Soooo, yes I am a new Doula but that does not mean I am not the Doula for you!


If you live near Goose Creek SC and would like to meet up and chat just fill in this contact form and we can set up a coffee date :) Don't have a sitter and need to have the kids with you, what about Mellow and Play Cafe?

Motherhood = Flexibility!



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page