top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Seifts

Honesty is the best policy....Right?


Gosh this is just terrible... I am really just disappointed with myself. I hate exercise and I just don't want to lie to you. I have not been doing what I was supposed to do! Ugh there I said it. I can't take it back now. But you must know, I had every intention of sticking to it. I mean it's 15 minutes a day! What is my actual hangup anyways!!!! I suppose I could go on with my page of excuses that I have carefully curated in my head but honestly I just can't figure out what my deal is. In the past I have never had this much trouble getting myself back into an exercise groove but since having a kid I just haven't got it back. Its been long enough though and I know that in spite of having plenty of time to actually work out (for instance I have been up alone since 4:30am) I am here reaching out to you my 50 readers ;) and asking for your advice! Have you picked yourself up out of a 3 year slump? At this point I feel like if I don't do something quick I am going to meet the point of no return, or is that even a thing? Even if not, I am positive that I need to stop making up excuses and feeling like working out will some how ruin my alone time.


I have a friend who said something to the effect of, you have to stop thinking of working out as work but start thinking of it as a celebration of all that your body is capable of... and if I am being honest I think this is a huge part of my hang up. See as a doula I know full and well what my AMAZING body is capable of so this should all be a no brainer and yet here I am still stalling instead of squatting.

Growing up I STAYED active and after 25, marriage, and a kid I just never quite kept it a priority. After all sports kept me active in high school but going out dancing with my franz is what kept me active in my 20's and now that I am 33 and married, the very thought of going out dancing and having the time of my life closing my eyes and letting everything but the music fade away sounds like a dream but the reality is I honestly feel old and out of place. (ugh I am an out of touch Mom! For Shame hahah Why are there no momz dance club? Better question which one of you, my wonderful readers will start it and invite me because I am READY)


So how do I begin the business of loving myself enough to really take care of me instead of the people around me first? Which for the record makes me so very happy and I will never stop, remember I have the time I just don't choose to spend it working out. I guess though this is where I need your help because right now I am not all that enthused with how my body feels working out. I can feel my rolls and lying on a floor is not fun on this spine and the extra weight only exasperates this problem. Seeing as this is the most I have ever weighed (but as you can see, there I go making excuses again right?) I mean, I don't shy away from physically demanding activities when there is socialization involved like gardening with friends and I certainly don't mind parking in the back of the parking lot for a brisk extended walk to the store but when it comes to setting aside time to work out, I do it but just don't do it - ya know? Have you been here, done that, bought the T-shirt? If so you may just be the inspiration I need to wake up from my slumber. I don't need a prince charming because I already have one but what I could really use right now is a friend who lives near me in Moncks Corner who wants to go for a good ole jog each day.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page